Barefoot in High Heels

What’s in a Name??

Posted on: August 17, 2008

Watch out blogosphere, here I come! 

I’ve finally entered into 2008 and have created my own blog.  What took me so long, you ask?  Finding a name, for one.   Not to mention the fact that I read enough blogs that I was afraid having one of my own would waste take more of my precious time!

So here we are . . . Barefoot in High Heels.  What’s that all about?  Well, I have so many different interests and activities that sometimes vary widely from each other.  I considered calling my blog “MBA to ABCs”, but I didn’t want to sound high-falutin’ (Look at me!  I have my MBA!).  Another option was “Powersuits and Playdates” (but I didn’t want to niche myself into a working mom/SAHM type of blog) or even “Stilettos and Sippy Cups.” (But then I realized that my days of stilettos are in the distant past, as they’re not so practical when carrying a diaper bag, a Medela pump, my laptop, and my baby, all while holding my preschooler’s hand!)  And while I assume that the majority of my posts will be about my kids and motherhood and juggling it all, I didn’t necessarily want the title to focus solely on my family.

Barefoot in High Heels, however, worked best for me.  It was a way to shamelessly self-promote write about and share Barefoot Books (believe me, WAY more about the topic in later posts), one of my newest passions.  The title is also a fun way to demonstrate my life in contradictions!  (And come on, what self-respecting gal doesn’t love a good pair of shoes???) 

So I wanted to start the blog because “I’d love to explore this . . . duality” (anyone know what movie that quote is from??  hint – one of my very favorites!).  Hang out with me and come back for a peek — we’ll talk about motherhood, raising daughters, quality children’s literature, and finding/retaining your own sense of self throughout this wonderfully chaotic and rewarding role of “Mom.”  I hope some of it will resonate with you — triumphs, trials, helpful tips we can all share, moments both poignant and proud, all with a healthy dose of sarcasm and self-deprecating humor (what fun would it be otherwise?).  I hope you’ll join me for the journey!

10 Responses to "What’s in a Name??"

Yay! First commenter!
And a Beaches quote in the first post. Way to go.

lori — i know that usually you can’t hear someone saying what they wrote (i am not AS into blogging as some, actually i think yours is the first i have ever read in its entirety!) but i can totally hear you saying this…looking forward to reading more

Welcome to Blogland, Lori! Congrats! I like the name that you chose.

LOVE it! LOVE it! LOVE it! So glad you finally came over to the darkside. 😉

Great blog! I will add a link to it on my blog under my Cool Blogs to Check Out section!

I have now added you to my list of blogs that I read! I congratulate you for starting your own! I have, too, but I haven’t put it “out there” yet. Maybe soon!

Your writing has great voice. So when does your first children’s book come out???….

Oh my goodness, Lori! I can, totally, hear you speaking through your written word! I am very proud of you for beginning your very own blog. I look forward to reading many more posts! :0)

p.s. Love, love, love the Disney Princess entry!!!

Lovely reading…however, you’ve shattered my dreams…….all those times we shared Cinderella! That’s OK…I’ll be working on your little ones……. searching for my Cinderella book and video now! hahaha. Very proud of you!

You’ve got a great title! Welcome and I can’t wait to visit again.

Leave a Reply

