Barefoot in High Heels

September is Pediatric Cancer Awareness Month

Posted on: September 28, 2008

 

 

Did you know it??  I know September is almost over, and I have seen only a handful blog posts about Pediatric Cancer Awareness Month.  Nothing in the news, no public service announcements, etc.   Maybe I was living with my head under a rock, but there certainly wasn’t a big to-do about raising awareness.  Nothing like the explosion of pink that will be everywhere in October with Breast Cancer Awareness Month (also a great cause).  

Here are a few facts I found from Bear Necessities Pediatric Cancer Foundation. Did you know that . . .

   

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

12,400 children will be diagnosed with cancer this year

   

 

 

 

 

Cancer is the leading cause of death by disease in children under 15

   

 

 

 

 

2,300 children will die from cancer this year

   

 

 

 

 

Incidence of cancer among children in the United States is rising about 1% each year, (however, survivorship is rising !)

   

 

 

 

 

1 in every 330 Americans develops cancer before the age of 20

Why am I posting this now?  I, for one, have been so blessed with two healthy little girls.  But it breaks my heart to see the agony that children and their families endure throughout their cancer struggle.   And one story in particular really moved me.

Little Sophie Quayle was diagnosed with DIPG (diffuse intrinsic pontine glioma), an inoperable brain tumor, in February of 2007.  She passed away October 6, 2007, just a few months after her 4th birthday.  Sophie’s story is unfortunately like so many others, yet something about this little girl made me think of her constantly (and I still do).  Perhaps it’s because I know her family — I went to school with her aunt and her mom, perhaps it’s because she reminds me of my older daughter in looks — the big blue eyes, the cute chubby cheeks, or perhaps it’s because Sophie was indeed such a special, insightful and bright little girl.  Her mom kept a blog throughout the ordeal and her strength, her determination to fight the cancer, and now her focus on raising awareness for DIPG is remarkable.

For more information on Sophie’s story and the foundation her family has begun, please see www.smilesforsophieforever.org.  If you can find it in your budget in this struggling economy to help out in any way, I know it would be much appreciated.  Donations are accepted through the website, or you can purchase items like headbands, bracelets, T-shirts, car magnets or puzzles to benefit Sophie’s foundation.  I myself am selling Barefoot Books, and anyone purchasing from me should enter the event code EV74 at checkout (because 7/4 was Sophie’s birthday!) to have a portion of the sales donated to Smiles for Sophie Forever.  (Note:  if you purchase Barefoot Books before the end of the month, receive FREE SHIPPING!).

Thank you for your support!

1 Response to "September is Pediatric Cancer Awareness Month"

Thanks for writing about this……visit People Against Childhood Cancer for more info….http://curechildhoodcancer.ning.com/

And a photo essay in the Boston Globe that we get started.

http://www.boston.com/bigpicture/2008/09/childhood_cancer_awareness_mon.html

Leave a Reply

