Barefoot in High Heels

Too Much Information?

Posted on: October 20, 2008

We watch a lot of PBS Kids over here at my house.  We’re big fans of Word World, Mr. Rogers, Sesame Street, and yes, even Barney.  And there’s a new show now, Martha Speaks.   Have you seen this?  It’s been on in the background, so I don’t have a lot to say about the content of the episodes.  Seems cute.  Something about a talking dog.  

Here’s the problem.  See, we’re talking about a kids’ program, right?  There’s usually quite a bit of suspension of disbelief for these shows.  A purple talking dinosaur?  No problem.  Teletubbies?  Kids don’t even blink an eye.  But it’s the theme song to Martha Speaks that really gets me.  They for some reason feel the need to explain why the dog speaks.  I’m not sure why this is necessary, as there are plenty of other talking animals on TV shows for kids and they don’t ask how it’s possible.

So here’s their explanation:  Martha “ate some alphabet soup and what happened was bizarre . . . on the way to Martha’s stomach, the letters lost their way.  They traveled to her brain and now she’s got a lot to say!”  Complete with a scientist showing a diagram of letters going into the dog’s mouth and heading toward the brain. 

Is anyone else disturbed by this theory?  I suppose I was happy to suspend my disbelief, as are most kids, I think.  Did we really need to have the scientific details???

I just can’t shake that image of the food going into my brain . .

3 Responses to "Too Much Information?"

That is WEIRD. And it’s not just the momentary explanation of it, either. It goes on and on and on….I’ll pass, thank you very much!

I’ve never seen the show, but we’ve read some of the books. The books explain the whole alphabet soup phenomenon as well. And, apparently, if Martha doesn’t get her daily ration of alphabet soup, she loses the ability to speak. Maybe that’s why they explain it in the song. Kinda like a Popeye and his spinach thing. But, I agree. It’s all very strange. My kids usually don’t “get” the books when I read them.

Oh, Jillian is all about that show — in fact, the explanation is her favorite part. Every time it comes on, she says, “Look, Mommy! This is how Martha began to speak!” I’m not sure how much she really believes it, or if it’s just cool to watch the alphabet soup go to the dog’s brain.

Leave a Reply

