Barefoot in High Heels

Giveaway! FREE books!

Posted on: October 28, 2008

Oh, how we love free stuff, am I right?  For those of you new to the blogosphere, you’ll be amazed at ALL the free stuff you can win over at the Bloggy Carnival Giveaway.  Everything from gift cards (who can pass up free money for Target?) to jewelry to kids’ items . . . and everything in between.  It’s truly amazing how many bloggers out there participating.  Check it out . . . you won’t be disappointed!  Just be sure to have some time on your hands so you can leave comments and get a glimpse of some new blogs to add to your readers (and hopefully win a few things while you’re at it).

So . . . what free stuff am I giving away here???  Barefoot Books, of course!!  For those new to Barefoot in High Heels and unfamiliar with Barefoot Books, you can see one of my earlier posts on the children’s book publisher.  Barefoot Books is an independent children’s book publisher that celebrates art and story while inspiring creativity, diversity, and teaching kids about the world around them. 

I have TWO Barefoot Books to bestow on the lucky winner!   The Gigantic Turnip and The Parrot Tico Tango are two paperbacks that I’ve posted about previously for the 5 Minutes for Books Kids’ Pick Carnival.  My 3-year-old LOVES these titles, and they’re great for the early elementary age as well. 

 

So how do you win??? 

  • Leave me a comment please with either a valid e-mail address or your website where I can easily reach you. 
  • Let me know what book your kids really enjoy reading (or having read to them).  I’m always looking for more ideas! 
  • Or if you prefer, tell me what interests you about Barefoot Books — some titles, illustrations, authors, the Barefoot mission statement, etc. 
  • If you’re interested in Barefoot’s products and would like to be on an e-mail distribution list for recommendations, sale items, coupons, etc., please say “Add Me To Your List.”   Don’t worry — there won’t be any bombarding of messages — sometimes a monthly e-mail to let you know about new products and specials. 

I’ll draw a winner at random the evening of Saturday, November 1st.  US addresses only, please!  🙂 

Most of you reading this are new to Barefoot in High Heels.  I’d love for you to browse around and let me know what you think — I’ve been blogging for only two short months now, and I’m slowly getting the hang of it!  Check out some of my favorite posts if you’d like.

Good luck!!!  I’ll notify the winner personally, and on this blog, too.  Happy Reading . . . and Thanks for stopping by!

74 Responses to "Giveaway! FREE books!"

I would love to win these two books for my children!

My son is heavy into trucks and vehicles right now, and I love Barefoot because a friend of mine was an artist for them when they were just starting out!

Right now, my little ones (4, 3, and 16months) love ANY book! They would have me read all day long if they could! Some current favorites are; Jessie Bear, We’re Going on a Bear Hunt, David & Goliath, Hop on Pop, any Berenstein bear book or BusyTown book… really and seriously, I’m not exaggerating when I say, they love books. All books. 🙂 I’ve never seen these, but they look great!

Those look like great books!

adorablyconfused at hotmail dot com

oh we would love these!!!!! I have a 6, 4, and 2 year old so we read – a lot!!!

my daughter is reading everything she can get her hands on – Dr. Seuss, Junie B Jones, classics, etc. Both of these books look great

Count me in! I have 3 boys and they love new books

My kids enjoy reading the Dr.Seus Books still!

My son is only 7 months old but he loves anything with rhymes or sing-songs. When he was younger, he really liked high-contrast books in black and white.

I was a voracious reader as a girl and loved historical fiction for kids. It was really engaging for me, and I loved researching the time period too in our school library.

Yeah! Glad you’re participating! 🙂 These days Jilly loves reading anything by Kevin Henkes. His stuff is so clever. Lily’s Purple Plastic Purse is one of her favorites.

My kids would love these! I read “Maybe a Bear Ate It” tonight with my Kindergartener who is learning sight words and he was able to read about half of it. It’s a great book for a beginning reader but any little one would love it. My 2 year old’s favorite right now is “Tails.”

ntalanATgmailDOTcom

I love Barefoot Books!!

my daughter has recently discovered the “Amelia Bedelia” books which I loved as a child and we are having so much fun reading them together!

dayeni at cox dot net

Great giveaway! My daughter loves books. All books.

Her current fave is called Ten Little Ladybugs. She adores it!

Thank you for the opportunity!

My son is really enjoying being read to lately. He likes Chicka Chicka 123, and If you Give a Mouse a Cookie.
He’d love these books, enter me please!

These books look awesome and I love the titles!! My kids love books and I have 4 kiddos, so books are always a must in our house!

Our favorite is Hooray for Fish! by Lucy Cousins, and all the Maizy books!

What a great giveaway! We LOVE Barefoot Books. Our current favorite is Shopping with Dad, but we also love The Boy Who Grew Flowers. We’d love to add these two books to our collection. Thanks!

We love The Giant Turnip! I didn’t even realize that was a Barefoot book.

Two other favorites at our house: The Seven Silly Eaters, by Mary Ann Hoberman, and the Seven Chinese Sisters. (Notice a theme here?)

I love Barefoot Books thanks for the giveaway

I have a 3 year old too … we’d love to have these books. Right now her current favorite bedtime stories are Madeline and Curious George.

my little girl is only 4 months old, but she loves to be read to. she loves to look at pictures and for us to lift up flaps for the “surprise” underneath. her favorite (or maybe it is my favorite. 😀 ) is “Counting Kisses.”

We would love to win more books!

Well, ONE of our favorite books at the present is Knick Knack Paddy Whack (also by Barefoot). Would love to try some additional titles!

readingtoknow (at) gmail (dot) com

(I”m always reviewing kid books both on my own blog and at 5 Minutes for Books – http://www.5minutesforbooks.com – if you haven’t stopped by yet!)

My kids enjoy nature books and books that are about different countries.

Love to read a good book! Thanks!

Sign me up. We love books. We just read Skippyjon Jones last night. Check it out. He is so cute!!

My son likes Horton Hatches the Egg…I’d love to win this prize. Thank you!

my 6 year old loves to read anything he can get his hands on and my 3 year old loves anything about tractors, trains, construction vehicles, or fire trucks

We read a lot of books (I try to list them in some of my blog postings) as we do books almost every night for bed — I don’t think the kids have one favorite right now although any book featuring Max and Ruby tends to be popular 🙂

vmlay@artsci.wustl.edu

My son loves the book Dinosaur Vs Bedtime. He is all about roaring like a dinosaur these days.

thanks for the chance to win. these look like great books.

We love books and would love to add more to our library. My daughter really likes the book Madeline.

My nieces all time favorites are if you give a mouse a cookie and if you give a moose a muffin!

My son wants me to read him The Little Engine That Could no less than fifty times a day!!! So I’d love to win new books 🙂 Thanks for the chance!
give_me_a_latte at yahoo

These books are new to me. I am an elementary school teacher who loves books. I love anything by Jan Brett!

shelcows at gmail dot com
http://www.writeforareader.edublogs.org

My daughter loves her new “Strega Nona” board book by Tomie De Paola.

please enter me- my daughter love the hungry caterpillar

These books look so cute! My kids love picture books – we just read some really cute ones by Dandi Daley Mackall…

ryanx6 at msn dot com

my girl loves goodnight moon

one of our current favorite series is The Magic Schoolbus — I also like one called A Bad Case of Stripes

My daughter is really enjoying the Flat Stanley series these days. We read two chapters each night and she is always excited to see what trouble Stanley gets into!

Thank you for the very generous giveaway!
foxsquirrelrabbit(at)gmail(dot)com

My sons love the Flat Stanley series right now. My younger daughter loves books by Doreen Cronin. And the oldest girl is into American Girl books.

Curious George and We’re Going on a Bear Hunt are a couple of the favorites at my house. :o)

My little guy loves the leapfrog books.

Thanks so much for the AWE-some Give-oh-Way!
audrajjensen(at)msn.com

My nephew loves trains…so stories about trains.

Deborah
dbstout{at}juno{dot}com

My daughter loves reading Class 2 at The Zoo. It’s about a class that goes to the zoo and a giant anaconda swallows them one by one (I know it sounds morbid, but nobody gets hurt and the illustrations are cute).

My kids would enjoy these books. One of my daughters is currently reading books by Judy Blume and one of my sons is interested in the Magic Tree House books.

sweet mrs.mommyyatgmaildotcom

My kids have lots of favourite books. Maurice Pledger is a favourite author. We also like classics like Ox Cart Man, or fun books like Toad on the Road, which we still recite by heart.

We love poetry books, Where the Sidewalk Ends, Falling Up, and It’s Raining Pigs & Noodles are some of our favorites. My son also loves Dr Seuss. Thanks for the giveaway!
princess3sah(at)cs(dot)com

I love to read them Each Peach Pear Plum. Thanks for the great giveaway.

I love reading to my granddaughter and she loves the Dr Seuss books! Thanks for the chance to win your great giveaway!

these books look terrific. my daughter loves when i read to her. she likes books with lots of colors and good illustrations!

I love Barefoot Books! Please enter me!
A book my girls really enjoy–and that I did too when I was a girl–is Yonder by Tony Johnson. I love the artwork!

I’ve been staring at the boy who grew flowers for quite awhile. these books look great too! fingers crossed!

I have not read any barefoot books yet. My favorite publisher so far for kids books is Illumination Arts. We have many of their books – hard cover, amazing artwork and a story with meaning. My son really enjoys them. Thanks.

Great sounding books. My neice (who visits often) would love this. Thanks for the giveaway. semtaylor(at)yahoo(dot)com

At the moment, my daughter enjoys any books that have vibrant colors to keep her interested.

We love reading The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein.

we have 3 book-lovin’ kids here at our house. narrowing down a fave would be difficult. For the last few days the most asked for title has been Dr. Seuss’ First of Octember

such fun books

we love go dog go right now, and no david!

Thank you for the chance to win!

We love “Toad on the Road” ….although Good Night Moon is a second favorite.

owatz (AT) telus (DOT) net

My four year old loves being read to – he doesn’t care what it is. If he’s browsing books by himself, then he prefers books with trucks or animals.

My seven year old likes the Magic Tree House books and the Secrets of Droon books.

akreese (at) hotmail (dot) com

My daughter pretty much loves any and all books. Right now her thing is dinosaur books. Both of these choices look great!

We love Dr. Seuss the most, I think! And the Golden Books! Thanks for the great giveaway! I love free stuff, but free BOOKS are even better! 🙂

We love The Bear Snores On and Jamberry!

Very nice! 🙂

These look like great children’s books. Right now we are mostly doing early reading cat in the hat kind of stuff.

My 2yr. old is WAY into reading. He loves the Little Bear series and the Golden Books of classic stories like three little pigs and Goldilocks. We have several Barefoot books and he loves them too. Especially the magic Train Ride book. Thanks.

A fabulous new picture book out is called “In a Blue Room” by Jim Averback. Surprise ending! Thanks for the comment on my blog. You can always watch the archived webcast of Laurie! Gasp, I haven’t read the Giganic Turnip yet! Both look like great reads!

Our favorite Barefoot Book is Noah’s Ark. Thanks for the give a way!

My tween really likes the Cupcake Club Books

These are great! I love the selection at Barefoot Books. The stories are great, but I realllly love the illustrations. Thanks for the giveaway!

For naptime we often read “I love you more”. My son loves to point to his toes when they talk about toes.

Leave a Reply

