Barefoot in High Heels

Happy Thanksgiving!

Posted on: November 27, 2008

Inspired by this post from Domestic Accident, I give you my Thankful List (in no particular order, except for the top 2):

I am thankful for:

  1. My husband
  2. Our daughters
  3. Having family and friends over for Thanksgiving dinner
  4. Our jobs (yes, can you believe it?  In this economy, we’re both still employed!!  yay!)
  5. Our health
  6. Our home (it may not be perfect, and we would love a new kitchen, but it’s OURS!)
  7. Panera Bread chai tea.  MMmmmmm! 
  8. Online shopping
  9. 24  (yep, that’s right!  Season 7 starts in January.  Woo-hoo!)
  10. Really good books
  11. I’m thankful that Miss M likes to read, too! 
  12. The library
  13. Miss M receiving her first preschool progress report (and a glowing one at that — “She is so sweet and kind to everyone!”)
  14. Miss A sleeping through the night (it took 11 months, but we finally got there!)
  15. The extended family — ALL of them!
  16. My 97-year-old grandpa (and you’d never guess it.  You’d probably think 75-80.  Tops.)
  17. The Internet
  18. Facebook 🙂
  19. My girlfriends.  Love. You. All.
  20. Online banking.  I detest physically writing checks.
  21. Good customer service
  22. My new jeans!
  23. Tall boots
  24. A great impractical pair of heels
  25. Theater.  Quality, live, musical theater.  Not your local multiplex.
  26. Education
  27. The good old US of A
  28. Christmas
  29. Thanksgiving dinner — turkey, stuffing, gravy, potatoes, corn, the works!  And pumpkin pie with whipped cream
  30. A full-bodied California cabernet in a big red-wine glass
  31. Champagne.  I don’t care if it’s a $4 bottle from the drugstore, or Dom Perignon — I’ve had it all and I love it!  Something about the bubbles and the festive-ness.
  32. Fall colors
  33. The four seasons.  The actual four different seasons, not the hotel.  Although I’m sure I’d love that, too.
  34. Hugs from my girls
  35. Laying/sitting in the beanbag chair in Miss M’s room before bedtime, with her saying “Let’s talk!”   Usually it’s “Let’s talk about school.”
  36. Date night!
  37. Trying new restaurants, and being pleasantly surprised
  38. On Demand.  Is it wrong that my daughter knows the little PBS Sprout On Demand song??
  39. DVR
  40. Health insurance
  41. Renters in our previous 2 residences (yep, you heard right.  We own a few houses.  Can’t sell anything here!) who pay their rent!
  42. Traveling.   Doesn’t happen much anymore, but we still love it and appreciate it and can’t wait to do some more when the kids are older.
  43. The first snowfall.   But only the first one.  After that, I’m usually about ready for spring.  I know, #33 said I love the four seasons.  But it would be nice if winter were actually the shortest one.
  44. Opportunity.  The world is our oyster, my friends!
  45. Working on a job share, so I can be home with my girls 2-3 days each week.
  46. My mom watching my girls while I work!!!!!!!
  47. I have great in-laws.  I know not everyone can say that!
  48. Music.   Playing (piano), singing, and listening.
  49. Warm, fuzzy slippers
  50. Photo books from Shutterfly.  It’s the only way for me to organize my pics (although I’m dreadfully behind on this whole task)
  51. Chocolate chip cookies
  52. Ice cream
  53. The Thanksgiving Day parade
  54. Christmas tree-lighting ceremonies
  55. Christmas carols
  56. Sleep
  57. Food.  You know, Maslow’s hierarchy of needs and all.
  58. Pure, unconditional love
  59. Democracy in action
  60. A good bra fitting
  61. Staying in pj’s all day
  62. Blogging as a way to stay in touch
  63. No long distance charges on my home or cell phone
  64. Every birthday, anniversary and milestone
  65. Miss A walking/running/climbing
  66. A handwritten note
  67. Receiving cards in the mail
  68. Babies
  69. A new coat of paint can change the look and feel of a room.  Thankfully.
  70. Deep-tissue massages
  71. Successfully nursing my girls for one year each
  72. Preschool crafts (but WHERE do I put them all?)
  73. Hot dutch apple pie a la mode
  74. Good movies that you can watch over and over and know all the lines (When Harry Met Sally, for one!)
  75. Strappy sandals
  76. Five years of marriage
  77. Long weekends
  78. Crossing off things on to-do lists
  79. Contacts
  80. Rare treats like pedicures
  81. Proper grammar
  82. Time (albeit at 5:30 in the morning!) to blog posts like this one.
  83. God’s grace and His work
  84. My nephew and my new nephew arriving next month
  85. $5 pizzas
  86. My kids liking vegetables
  87. Good neighbors
  88. Down pillows
  89. My husband letting me hog the bed
  90. My husband doing most of the laundry
  91. Those Fresh-Mex chains where they build your burrito in front of you.  Yum.
  92. Suave Kids’ detangler!  How else would I be able to brush my daughter’s hair without her crying?
  93. Bobux baby shoes.  Love them.
  94. Saving money
  95. Good sales on things I need
  96. My local international marketplace for fresh food
  97. Target
  98. A company car
  99. A tall glass of pink lemonade on a hot day
  100. Having so many things to be thankful for (or, for which to be thankful)! 

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone!

5 Responses to "Happy Thanksgiving!"

Thankful for you, too! 🙂 And, you’ve got to tell me more about the jeans — I think we discussed the fact that you and I have the same jean issue. Did you find a pair that doesn’t stretch out?!?

Interesting Read! Very detailed blog,thanks for sharing

Happy thanks giving to all of you too. Wonderful post.

Post 46……That’s what I am thankful for……my daughter sharing her two beautiful children with me. They have changed my perception on life. Absolutely love them. And my grandson, too! It doesn’t get any better than being “grandma!”

HI! Just a note to let you know that you won the Christmas book giveaway on my blog. I need your address so that I can send you your books!

You can e-mail me at: readingtoknow (at) gmail (dot) com

Thanks!

Carrie

Leave a Reply

