Barefoot in High Heels

Reading Against Time . . .

Posted on: March 24, 2009

Hear ye!  Hear ye!  I now announce to the blogging world that in only 17 short weeks I’ll be a mother of three!

That’s right, folks.  For three months I’ll have three kids under four!  Yikes!!  We are so thrilled and excited, and know that we’ll have our hands full for a while.  But we wouldn’t have had it any other way.

One thing I know I’ll miss, though, in those early infant days, is the chance to read.  Really, until the baby is sleeping through the night, it’s hard to stay up and sneak in an extra chapter of a book, when you never know how long that little bundle of joy will be out like a light!  For my firstborn, it was only 11 short weeks before she was consistently sleeping through the night.   The second?  Eleven months.  *gulp*  Let’s hope Baby #3 is as cooperative with his/her sleep as Miss M was!

So now I feel like I’m racing (or reading) against time to soak up some good literature, some new novels, some brain candy quick-reads.  Anything!  Because I LOVE to read!   And with the exception of reading/deciphering the backs of Tylenol bottles by the faint glow of the nightlight, or paging through google searches for good nursing tips, I know that my reading will be put on the back burner for a while once Baby makes its arrival. 

So I’m once again participating in 5 Minutes for Books What’s On My Nightstand? carnival.

nightstand

I’ve been reading quite a bit lately.  Finished all four books of the Twilight series (see my original post here), and recently read The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.  I’ll finish On Beauty tonight, by Zadie Smith — an interesting read, although somewhat pretentious.  I was intrigued by the characters, but didn’t actually like any of them as people.  The Last Lecture by Randy Pausch took me about 2 hours tops to read cover to cover, but it’s one I could peruse over and over.  What a compelling story and a courageous man!

So what’s next on my nightstand?

  • The Virgin’s Lover by Philippa Gregory.  I’ve been loving her historical fiction!  The Other Boleyn Girl was fantastic, and then The Boleyn Inheritance and The Queen’s Fool were also intriguing.  I couldn’t put them down!
  • The Time Traveler’s Wife
  • Wicked by Gregory Maguire.  I’ve been wanting to read it for a while, especially after seeing the phenomenal musical!  So my good friend Jen sent me home with this (along with Time Traveller’s Wife and On Beauty) after I spent the weekend at her place in Chicago.  Thanks, Jen!
  • Wally Lamb’s The Hour I First Believed is on hold for me at the library — I wish people would hurry up and read it already!

It’s been a while since I picked up my favorite novel, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, so I should probably re-read that one soon, and I’d like to tackle Jane Austen’s novels.  I’ve read three of them and was enamored with her writing, and the fact that she could convey such emotion, love, sexual frustration and yearning within the confines of the society in which she was writing.  Fabulous! 

So there you have it.  A fairly heady task, considering all the other things we moms have going on — kids, husband, work, Facebook, American Idol . . . you know, the important things.   But I’ll do what I can, and enjoy the reading while I have the very limited time.

So . . . what’s on your nightstand?

8 Responses to "Reading Against Time . . ."

I’ve read several of the ones you have listed. I loved A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, but I have to admit that The Time Traveler’s Wife and Wicked are not on my list of favorites. In fact, I couldn’t even make myself finish Wicked, even though the musical is phenomenal. Just not my style, I guess. The Hour I First Believed is one that I’ve perused at the bookstore, but I haven’t added it to my list yet.

Best wishes with you new arrival! Get your sleep now! 😉

CONGRATULATIONS ON YOUR NEW FAMILY MEMBER! That is SO awesome!!!! Wow! Fun, fun!

And yup, you’d better read fast! 😉

I’ve been wanting to read The Last Lecture so I’m rather envious.

Anyway, congrats again and have fun!

Don’t know if you plan to breastfeed but I always found that to be a good time to read a chapter or two. That is, when I wasn’t fawning over the baby I was feeding.

I’m currently finishing up the last book in the Twilight series. I’m not usually a fan of that sort of thing but these book really sucked me in. After that I’m looking forward to reading The Shack, and then Jodi Picoult’s newest novel. Just waiting for them to come in at the library…

Those are some great titles — I need to check a few of those out. Although, I have tried to read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn a couple times and I just could not get through it. I wish I knew what it was — because a lot of people rave about it.

I’m working on The Wednesday Letters, Life’s Golden Ticket and will soon start People of the Book, The Book Thief and Lone Survivor.

Can’t believe only a handful of weeks to go for you! 🙂

A Tree Grows in Brooklyn is an excellent book – a book that all children in highschool should read…IMHO.

I loved reading The Queen’s Fool…I should check into more books by this author.

Happy Reading!

Congratulations!!!

I forgot I lent you those books . . . and I was looking at your list thinking “wow! Those are all books that I’ve read!” Ha. Enjoy them!

I am reading “Prep” right now (author’s name is escaping me), about a midwest girl who goes to an east-coast boarding school. Quite good.

Hello! Poppin’ in from The Ultimate Blog Party…all the way from Queensland, Australia! G’Day! I hope you have time to visit my party soon.

I’m giving away Pink Champagne Shower Syrup from Jaqua Beauty…stop on over and enter! Ends April 8. Open to USA.

Ta!

I want to invite you to the Mommie Daze Virtual Baby Shower that I am hosting May 15 to June 8. This is an international even and there are prizes! Stop by my blog for all the details.

Leave a Reply

